RSS Feed

Pickled Red Onyums

Posted on

I am a big fan of pretty much anything pickled. Over the past couple of years I have had my taste buds tickled a few times when a serving of pickled onions has been slipped onto my veggie sandwich. Locally I can remember a hummus or Greek wrap that Otto’s served years ago and one of the current veggie sandwiches at Olde New York also uses them well.

I decided to try to make some myself and combined a few ideas including inspiration from good chef/ writer/ marathon runner Mark Bittman. He has a great section on Quick-Pickled Vegetables in his “How to Cook Everything Vegetarian.” Thanks to our dear Amy for giving us this versatile vegetarian cooking bible!!

A nice big red onion will give you four healthy servings. You can use them as a side dish to a carb heavy Mexican meal or top a nice falafel, tzatziki, and veggie sandwich.

My Pickled Red Onyums turned out so well that they won’t last long Stored in a closed glass container in the fridge you can keep them for about a month but I dare you to try to not eat them all within a week. The juice itself can brighten up a bland potato salad so don’t pitch it when the Onyums are all*.

I put my seasoning in a spice bag because I like the naked strands of onion to be unlittered by spice bits. When I say “spice bag” I actually mean a 6″ section of laundered old cotton t-shirt (too many race shirts have ugly logos). I securely tied the spices inside so they would not escape during the boil.

3/4 cup apple cider vinegar
3 tablespoons sugar
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon red chili flakes
1 bay leaf
5 whole allspice
5 whole cloves
1 large red onion, peeled, and sliced thinly into rings

1. In a small, non-reactive saucepan, heat the vinegar, sugar, salt, and bagged spiced until boiling.

2. Let the liquid simmer about 3 minutes to let the bagged spices work their magic with the juice. This is what will change the onions into Onyums!

3. Add the onion slices, lower heat, and simmer gently for 30 seconds while giving them a stir or two. Yup, just 30 seconds.

4. Remove the pot from the heat and let cool them completely.

5. Remove the spice bag an spoon the Onyums and their liquid into a glass jar to refrigerate until ready to use.

* In this case, something being “all” means “all gone.” Having grown up in Central PA, I have the joy of being surrounded by phrases that my best friend Missy refers to as “Dutchified.” I think it only proper that I slip a little Dutchified English into BiNaH now and then.

Falafel and tzatziki with Pickled Red Onyums on naan. I ate half for lunch and I am stuffed!

About trueindigo

vegan, runner, blogger, mom, model, artist, tarot reader.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Hummus Tacos | Bacon is NOT an Herb

Leave a Reply

