RSS Feed

Herbie & Wally’s Sandwich Spread

Posted on

With just a couple of hours before Jim came home for lunch I decided I might throw together a nice melty sandwich! I walked to the store and came back with a few ingredients I was missing including a nice big artisan loaf of Roasted Garlic & Rosemary Bread.

Some raw ingredients.

I had time to harvest a bunch of fresh herbs from my garden along with some little sungold tomatoes and a few pole beans. After washing the herbs (as well as my hands), I used the ninja to blender up the following:

1/2 Cup combined fresh basil & parsley
1 1/2 Cups of English Walnuts
1 lime’s juice
1 Tablespoon Almond Butter

It made a course paste that I folded in a little salt and pepper before spreading a healthy 1/2″ layer of it on the thick slab of bread I cut. On another equally thick slab of bread I put some thin slices of NY Extra Sharp Cheddar Cheese. I put the 2 laden bread slices, face up, onto a foil lined cookie sheet and slid them into a 200° oven for 10 minutes and turned the oven off for 5 more minutes to keep it warm and the cheese gooey.

While the bread, spread and cheese was in the oven warming, I took 1/2 Cup of baby greens, grated a carrot into it and tossed it with just 1 teaspoon of Balsamic Vinegar. I had just enough time to make thin slices of Granny Smith Apple.

The bread and warm fillers came off of the foil easily and I put all of my prepped greens and apple inside. We split the sandwich and it was exactly what we had been wanting!

A Herbie & Wally Melt!

About trueindigo

vegan, runner, blogger, mom, model, artist, tarot reader.

Leave a Reply

