RSS Feed

Vegan Shoo-Fly Pie

Posted on

This crumbly topped pie can be seen whole or in slices at so many of our regional farmer’s markets. It’s an Amish and Pennsylvania Dutch trademark and is normally made with a crust cut with lard, the crumbs with butter (or more lard) and the molasses center bound with eggs (probably lard in that too).

My goal was to replicate the local pie as closely as possible in looks, texture and taste but making it all vegan. I am still pretty familiar with the flavor of lard from my forgetfulness that some local treats use it. I bite into something I stupidly think is safe and taste that taste… uh oh… LARD ALERT.

Crust
What’s cool abut how my Vegan Shoo-Fly Pie turned out is that I kept getting the same “lard alert” from my taste buds but I knew it was safe since I made it!! What worked was taking my favorite pastry crust recipe and adding about 5 drops of liquid smoke into the first water I added when bringing my crust together. That way if it didn’t take a lot of water, I would have already gotten the smoke worked in.

I blind baked my pie crust (375° for 15 minutes) since it was intended to house a really sloppy molasses mixture for the final baking. I then turned the oven down to 350° as I let the crust cool and prepared the…

Crumbles/Topping
I made the crumbly topping in my Ninja by blending the following cold ingredients:

1 cup flour
1/2 cup brown sugar
2 tablespoons vegan shortening
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/8 teaspoon cloves
pinch o’ nutmeg

I took out out 1/3 Cup of crumbles to reserve them for the top then transfered the rest into a medium mixing bowl. I put them all in the ‘fridge to stay chilled while I made the…

Filling
1 Cup Molasses (3/4 Mild Flavor + 1/4 Black Strap)
1 Cup water
4 teaspoons agar agar flakes
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 teaspoon baking soda

I brought the water and agar flakes to a boil and made sure all flakes dissolved. I then put the the baking soda in a heat safe bowl and poured the boiling water/ agar solution over it. It really foamed up! To it I added the molasses and vanilla and used my high temperature resistant spatula to combine.

I poured the foamy molasses mixture into the chilled larger amount of crumbs and folded them gently until all the crumbs were wet. Into the pie crust I poured all of the filling and finally sprinkled the remaining 1/3 cup of crumb mixture evenly over the top of the filling. I baked it for 45 minutes until the filling puffed up and the top began to began to look dry and sport those signature Shoo-Fly cracks on it. I took it out, transferred the pie to a rack, and let it cool completely before cutting.

I am so pleased with how my first try came out; a pie just as I was envisioning. I encourage feedback on my Vegan Shoo-Fly Pie whether you make it yourself, try a slice (waiting to hear back from my 9 taster-testers*) or just want to comment. Enjoy!
*taster-testers, THANK YOU!
CK: “Moist, and very good!”
LS: “Terri’s shofly pie was very good. I liked it. It’s a winner.”
J1: Did not like it the taste.
L: Gave it really a big thumbs-up! Liked that it was surprised it was made without any eggs or dairy.
J2: “Very, very tasty!” Surprised it was made without any eggs or dairy.
T1: “Loved the crust!” Surprised it was made without any eggs or dairy.
H: Loves the moistness of it! Really dislikes a dry Shoe-Fly Pie. “On a scale of 10, I’d give it a 7 or 8.”
T2: Loved how moist the pie was.

Read about Another Slice o’ Shoo-fly Pie here!

About trueindigo

vegan, runner, blogger, mom, model, artist, tarot reader.

2 responses »

  1. SUPER-psyched to try this out east. Thank a million for working it up! Looks like a huge success.

    Reply
    • I was shocked that I got the right amount of agar first time out! If I can replicate it on a dry winter day of baking then I know the recipe is a keeper! Thanks for inspiring me!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

