RSS Feed

Stir-fry Puff Pastries

Instead of serving your favorite stir fry over rice, consider mixing it up a bit and nest a heaping spoonful onto some prepared puff pastry. They would make nice appetizers for any Asian meal and I think they would be great as a side to some hot and sour soup.

I was inspired by, but instantly lost the link to, Tiffany’s Soy Glazed Veggies in Puff Pastry. I had puff pastry dough left over and decided to wing it using what I could remember.

I made sure my puff pastry dough was thawed and started to pre-heat the oven to 350° – if you don’t have an in oven thermometer, get one. I took a 1/4 – 1/3 cup of veggies with contrasting colors and cut them into sizes that would fit nicely onto the pastry squares. I gave the veggies like carrots, onions and celery a little head start in the frying pan before adding the yellow squash, red bell pepper and rainbow chard. Along with a little oil, minced garlic, sesame seeds, and a splash of soy sauce I fried them until they were just tender. They cook in the oven for at least 45 minutes too so do not over-fry them. I added about 1/4 cup of canned broken straw mushrooms and took it all off of the heat while I prepped the pastry sheets.

I like to line a baking sheet with foil and spray it very lightly with oil. I then drizzled a few drops of sesame oil and brushed it to even it out so the flavor would be under all areas of the pastry dough. I then put down about 3 sheets of dough before lightly spraying the top sheet with oil, add 3 more and lightly spray again. When I added the next 3 sheets (about 9 are on the tray total) I again spray lightly with oil but also add a little sesame oil like I did to the foiled tray before the first layers of dough. I then repeated that pattern (3 spray oil/ 3 spray oil/ 3 spray oil & sesame oil drips brushed on) until all of the sheets in the roll are used.

I ended with a final spray and sesame oil on top then, using a very sharp knife, scored the sheets into 12 even portions. I separated the portions just a little bit before topping each with a heaping spoon full of the stir fry. I sprinkles a few sesame seeds onto each portion and baked them for 45 minutes or until the pastry was a lovely golden brown.

They were great hot out of the oven with a little Szechuan sauce drizzled over them for flavor and color interest. Jim was thrilled with them and we both agreed they were and amazing little appetizer that we would rave about if we had ordered them in a restaurant. Home is our favorite restaurant!

About trueindigo

vegan, runner, blogger, mom, model, artist, tarot reader.

Leave a Reply

