RSS Feed

Grammy’s 14 Day Pickles (day 11)

The pickle chunks absorbed just a bit of the gallon of water overnight from Day 10. I measured the liquid after I poured it off and discarded it. This is my last day for discarding liquid.

Today they got covered with a vinegar and sugar syrup. Grammy’s recipe called for a syrup that for ever 2 Quarts of Vinegar you add in 6 Lbs. of Sugar. POUNDS!? I had to wonder if my Aunt Esther wrote that down wrong and meant cups. Because of this, I started with just 2 Quarts (8 Cups) of white vinegar and added in 6 cups of the sugar to see if maybe that looked right. Nope, it took the whole 6 Lbs. (which actually measured 14 1/2 Cups.)

Thick with sugar, before it boiled.

To the solution of vinegar and sugar I added a spice bag with 3-4 broken cinnamon sticks, “some” cloves (I used about 7) and a Tablespoon of Celery Seed. I used the same old t-shirt technique to make my spice bag as I did in my Red Pickled Onyums and slowly brought it all to a boil.

According to Jim, house smelled like Salt & Vinegar Chips when he woke up and I had just poured the hot solution over the pickle chunks. The 2 Quarts Vinegar + 6 Lbs. of Sugar had made a gallon of boiling solution and was just right. My Grammy knew what she was doing.

Spices for Grammy's Pickles

About trueindigo

vegan, runner, blogger, mom, model, artist, tarot reader.

One response »

  1. Starting to sound good

    Reply

Leave a Reply

