RSS Feed

Grammy’s 14 Day Pickles (day 14)

Grammy’s 14 Day Pickles (day 14)

This was the big day after 2 weeks of different treatments. They are finally pickles today and I did some canning for the first time in a long time.

If anyone noticed I left out Day 13 it’s not for superstitious reasons. It was the same as Day 12 except I took some samples out for my family to share with me. We all thought they tasted pretty good and they reminded me of exactly what my Mom, Aunt Esther and Grammy would make.

Maybe Day 13 was really the key, family and memories. We spent the day visiting before Amy and Arron have to get back to work in the city. It’s memories and good times that make things like home-made pickles taste so good. If the joy we have shared over the past 2 weeks is even partially infused into these pickles, they will turn out great.

Grammy Lukens was kind and sweet and tough enough to stand up to many hardships. I never met my grandfather, he died when my Dad was just 11 and Grammy was left to raise him with the help of her 2 older daughters, Esther and Hannah. I think these pickles are a good reflection of how I remember her. They too have sweetness, a pleasant personality and are steadfast.

All of my jars sealed and I didn’t make too much of a mess. I tried to keep things clean and not slop the hot syrup as I topped off the jars over the pickles. In all it made about 15 pints of pickles but my syrup didn’t hold out long enough to cover the last pint. Pity, we will have to eat those straight away.

It was nice to see the finished product sitting in row and having the morning sun reflect through them. It was like crossing the line of a half-marathon; it gave me a sense of satisfaction to see the process through from beginning to end even if I made a mistake or two along the way.

Mom had scanned the recipe and emailed it to me. It’s in my Aunt Esther’s handwriting and that makes it special to me. I suppose I could have made this a single blog entry, just posted the scan and let anyone interested have at it, but I wanted to share my experiences from Day 1 until today. For the first time ever, I finally made my Grammy’s 14 Day Pickles.

About trueindigo

vegan, runner, blogger, mom, model, artist, tarot reader.

Leave a Reply

