RSS Feed

Roasted Beet & Fennel Salad with Grapefruit Dressing

Roasted Beet & Fennel Salad with Grapefruit Dressing

I can’t help but order any Beet Salad if it’s on the menu of a restaurant I visit. The only reason I didn’t at V-Note in NYC was because Amy did and was generous in sharing it with me. That salad even had the delicately textured yellow beets in it – such a nice touch!

My favorite salad with beets is the one I get at Elk Creek Cafe that has thin slices of fennel and a mellow grapefruit dressing. I did my best to make it for lunch and started of by roasting the beets, Post Punk Kitchen style, in tin foil.

Jim found the PPK recipe quite a while ago and posted it on his very first blog that accidentally got deleted. That was the one link that got our family hooked on beets last year and I made sure to post the link again on Jim’s new blog since it was our “go to” link for perfect beets. Thanks PPK for being a wonderful resource for our family.

One modification I made was to stand the tin foil wrapped beets upright in a cupcake tin. I think I tipped a beet over once and the juices started seeping out so I learned to secure them. Six is a good number for roasting beets I think, eat some now and refrigerate some for later.

I cut up half a bulb of fennel into really thin slices and split it between our two salads which were a base of field greens. I also added some of my Red Pickled Onyums since the salad I was trying to replicate had red onions on it too.

The most challenging part for me was the grapefruit dressing. Jim said I got it just right so I will share exactly how I made it.

Grapefruit Dressing

Ingredients:
1 Ruby Red Grapefruit
1 Tablespoon Extra Virgin Olive Oil
1/2 teaspoon Organic Sugar
1/2 teaspoon crushed Fennel Seeds
1/4 teaspoon Caraway Seeds

Prepare:
(prep time 1 1/2 hours while you roast the beets)
Zest the grapefruit and juice half of it (reserve the other have in a container for any other use). Combine the zest with the olive oil and crushed fennel seeds and allow to sit at room temperature for at least an hour. After the zest and fennel have infused their flavors into the oil, pour in the juice and strain it all through a very finely meshed sieve. Add the sugar and caraway seeds then allow the dressing to sit for at least another 1/2 hour.

I used a small funnel and put it into a little St. Germain’s bottle to shake it up to pour over the salads and even have a bit left over for later.

About trueindigo

vegan, runner, blogger, mom, model, artist, tarot reader.

3 responses »

  1. What a fun blog! You have a great mixture of recipes and restaurants. I enjoy trying to make my favorite restaurant dished at home,too.
    Thanks for the FoodBuzz friend request, I love finding new foodie friends and their websites.

    Reply
  2. This is a great-looking salad! I have chioggia beets that desperately need to be used and this might be just the recipe!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

