RSS Feed

Vegetable Jambalaya

I don’t always have time to make it to The Rathskeller on Thursdays, like today. Rather than be crunched for time and run back into town for the 4th time this week, I chose to end my 10k run this morning at the grocery store and make my own Vegetable Jambalaya.

I hesitated to buy an eggplant but I was trying to replicate the recipe from The Rathskeller and went ahead and chose a firm one. The skin area was a little bitter so I pealed half for the jambalaya but baked the other half unpeeled for a small batch of Baba Ganoush. The peeled half I cut and salted along with yellow and zucchini squashes then let them sit to sweat it out for a while. That got a lot of extra bitterness out of them and I gave them a rinse before adding them to the rest of the cooking veggies.

I was in such a rush getting everything thrown together in time that I can’t even come up with a proper recipe right now. I did use a couple of the Vegan Boudin links, carrots, celery, filé, bay leaves, crushed red pepper, onion and garlic but there was a lot more. I used a cup of rice and a can of crushed tomatoes – oh yeah and a fresh tomato too! See? I just remembered that and the red bell pepper.

It took a good hour to simmer so the rice would get nice and soft and it did turn out pretty well. Jim said he liked mine better because it was a lot less oily. I was also able to spice it up enough with a Scotch Bonnet pepper that it didn’t even require any hot sauce.

About trueindigo

vegan, runner, blogger, mom, model, artist, tarot reader.

2 responses »

  1. Veggie Jumbalaya! I love it! I’d like to re-create something like this, yummy! I’m curious, what is file?
    Nice to see you are a fellow runner too!

    Reply
    • I am training for a local 1/2 marathon in early December. Filé powder, also called gumbo filé, is a spicy herb made from the dried and ground leaves of the sassafras tree. Traditional Cajun spice.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

