RSS Feed

Black Bean Soup

Black Bean Soup

Hey all of you local restaurants who feel that Cuban Style Black Bean Soup has to have ham or bacon in it – it doesn’t!

This was a quicky lunch for us because I used a vegan Nueva Cocina soup mix as a base. It was a package I found at a surplus grocery store for $.79 so I have no idea if it is regularly carried locally. The recipe turned out so well and was so quick that I will be looking for it.

The mix regularly calls for:
2 Tablespoons of Olive Oil

In that I decided to saute:
1 chopped Onion
2 stalks of chapped Celery
1 teaspoon minced Ginger
2 Tablespoons of minced Dried Apricots

Next into the pot went:
1 6oz. package of Nueva Cocina Black Bean soup mix
3 Cups of Water
1 diced Potato

I brought it all to a boil then simmered it for about 15 minutes. Fast, friendly, flavorful and meat free!!

About trueindigo

vegan, runner, blogger, mom, model, artist, tarot reader.

One response »

  1. Black bean soup is one of my all-time favorites! I like the dried apricots idea! Cool!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

