RSS Feed

Pennsyltucky Veggie Awards 2011

Pennsyltucky Veggie Award Hex Sign

Inspired by the many Pennsylvania Dutch hex signs, Jim took the Bacon is NOT an Herb logo and transformed it into a Hex Sign I will use as the award.

Central Pennsylvania is a wonderful place to live but finding the best vegetarian (let alone vegan) dining can be difficult. I have tried to limit my restaurant and food reviews to the heart of this wonderful state but have been drawn outside the Pennsyltucky boundries in some cases.

Pennsyltucky Veggie Awards will remain local, limited to the counties that are touched by the keystone center of our state illustrated below. The awards recognize the year’s best vegetarian foods available in our region by highlighting a few menu items from restaurants I have been able to visit this past year. I hope I will get suggestions from readers on favorites that I have overlooked for 2012.

In the same way that I scale my BiNaH Rating for restaurants that I review, I am judging only what is offered straight off of the menu with no “hold the pickles, extra lettuce” high maintenance tweaks. To stick with the BK theme, realize I won’t be including large franchise restaurants so don’t expect the BK Veggie to be garnering an award.

I hope to award recognition to this region’s best vegetarian Portobello, Veggie Burger, Soup, Salad, Appetizer, Specials, Overall Menu, Ethnic Restaurant and Best Restaurant.

Do you know of a Pennsyltucky restaurant or menu item that you think I should consider in 2012? If it’s in central PA (see map below) and is a regular vegetarian menu item, let me know and I will include it in the judging next year! Drop me, Pennsyltucky Veggie, a line or feel free to leave a comment on any of the awards pages!

About trueindigo

vegan, runner, blogger, mom, model, artist, tarot reader.

One response »

  1. Wow! Great idea! And super logo!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

