RSS Feed

Jimbo’s Vegan Gravy

Jimbo’s Vegan Gravy

Mom had made a huge batch of cornbread stuffing for Thanksgiving and froze a portion for us in a handy oven friendly pan. There was a time last week when I had thawed it over night and counted on it for lunch the next day. I somehow dried out the edges of the stuffing when I baked it so threw together a quick vegan gravy that I thought would go well with the seasoned cornbread. Jim loved the meal, “You should blog this awesome gravy!”

Of course it’s moments like that I end up regretting; no photos, no measuring of ingredients and we ate every drop of it. In my rush to pull it all together, I didn’t have time. I would have to recreate it and see if it was still worthy of Jim’s praise since he kept mentioning it all week, “Great Sage may be an award winning vegan restaurant but I bet they don’t have gravy like yours.”

Since we had eaten all of the left over stuffing, I went shopping for a few ingredients to stuff a halved acorn squash and got some MorningStar Farms® Meal Starters® Chik’n Strips too. It was a pretty thick, southern-style gravy and I thought those items would pair well with it.

It turned out the same as the first time and Jim loved it. It was his enthusiasm that got me to replicate it before I forgot what I had done, for this I thank him and name the gravy after him.

Jimbo’s Vegan Gravy
A thick southern-style vegan gravy.

Ingredients
1 Tablespoon Olive Oil
1 Tablespoon Earth Balance Spread
1 Tablespoon Nutritional Yeast
1 Tablespoon Flour
1 Tablespoon Raw Almond Butter
1 Tablespoon Tofutti Sour Supreme
1 Cup RICE DREAM® Original Rice Milk
1 -2 dashes of Hickory Liquid Smoke
1/4 teaspoon Salt
dash of fine Black Pepper

Directions
If you have ever made gravy before you can see where this is going for the most part. Over low heat melt the Earth Balance and olive oil then stir in the flour and nutritional yeast. Cook over low heat about a minute, stirring constantly until the mixture is smooth and bubbly. This is where the roux varies a little because I then cook in the almond butter and Sour Supreme. Stir it all constantly to make a paste before incrementally adding in the liquid smoke and rice milk.

Bring to a low boil, add salt and pepper, and continue stirring for 1 minute. The gravy will thicken if you boil and stir it a minute longer. Remove from heat but serve while still warm.

About trueindigo

vegan, runner, blogger, mom, model, artist, tarot reader.

3 responses »

  1. This really is an excellent vegan gravy, and it is a stand-out for home comfort food! I am honored to have my name forever associated with it.

    Reply
  2. Sure beats that scary white stuff poured over biscuits and sausage!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

