RSS Feed

Vegan Hoppin’ John

The black-eyed peas are a nod to my Mom’s family from the south. Eating Hoppin’ John on New Year’s Day is thought to bring a prosperous year filled with luck. Needing all the luck we can get, I veganised a traditional recipe of Hoppin’ John.

Oh, not sure if I have ever used the term veganise/veganize before today but I do it to recipes all the time. There are some basic steps to veganizing recipes. Here also is a cool link to help you veganise any recipe.

Ingredients
2 Tablespoons olive oil (plus a splash for “sausages”)
1 medium onion, chopped
3 large cloves garlic, sliced
1 bay leaf
1 teaspoon Cajun or Creole seasoning
1/2 teaspoon dried thyme leaves
1/2 medium red bell pepper, chopped
1/2 green bell pepper, chopped
3 ribs celery with leaves, chopped
1/2 Cup long-grain white rice
1 1/2 Cups vegetable stock
1 15.5 oz can black-eyed peas
3 dashes of liquid smoke
2 spicy vegan sausages (like Tofurky Italian or Field Roast Chipotle)
2 Cups coarsely chopped collard greens

Directions
Over medium heat, heat the olive oil in a 4 quart sauce pan and saute the onion and garlic for a couple of minutes with the bay leaf, thyme and Creole seasoning. Add the celery, peppers and rice and saute about 3 minutes before adding the stock, liquid smoke and black-eyed peas. Bring to a boil then reduce heat to low, cover and simmer for 20 minutes.

While it is simmering, chop up the vegan sausages and lightly fry them in a tiny bit of olive oil and set aside. After the 20 minutes are up, remove the pot from the heat, add the sausage pieces, chopped collard greens and lightly toss before recovering. Allow it to sit for 5 minutes, give a quick stir and fish out the bay leaf, adjust seasoning to taste and serve hot.

I took a small portion out before I added the spicy sausages (see without and with photo above). It was pretty good without but definitely needed some red pepper flakes and maybe a bit of vinegar if you don’t want to add sausages.

About trueindigo

vegan, runner, blogger, mom, model, artist, tarot reader.

6 responses »

  1. I never thought about adding collards to hopping’ john. I like that. As I am always looking for tasty vegan dishes, I’ll be checking back.

    Reply
  2. Now you’re making me feel guilty – well, maybe not. 🙂 While your recipe looks absolutely fabulous I have to admit that I have a pot of Hoppin John cooking on the stovetop right now with smoked ham hocks and andouille. However, I am using chicken andouille this year, so I’m being “a little” good. Hope your black-eyes do bring a good 2012! Happy New Years Day!

    Reply
  3. Thanks for checking out my blog,you had a great blog,this hopping john is sound Yummy and healthy for sure i love all ingredients in it 🙂

    Reply
  4. I love how you put the collards right now there – health and wealth all in one pot! In my laziness I got mine from the Whole Foods hot bar tonight.

    Reply
  5. Mmmmm, mmm! I need to try this. I’ve never made Hoppin’ John before, but your recipe has everything I love: beans, greens and rice. PS love the bowls in which you served it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

