RSS Feed

A Greenhorn’s First Tofu Scramble

Every vegan cook I know pretty much brags that their Tofu Scramble is the best. Even Vegtoberfest was thinking it might be more appropriate to have a Tofu Scramble cook off this past year instead of a chili cook off.

As a vegetarian for almost 4 decades, you would think I would have tasted a few to have made an informed decision on which recipe or what restaurant has the best. This has not been the case. Before today, I had 2 (that’s right two) Tofu Scrambles in my life, both within the past 6 months.

Tofu has never really been a favorite of mine and most of the 37 years I have been a lacto-ovo vegetarian. If I wanted a scramble, it was made of the eggs from a chicken. I know that probably sounds gross to some readers and more easily accepted by others. Do let it be known that over the decades I went from white eggs to brown to organic to “free range” to local brown free range. What’s the next step? Tofu in this case!

I have to say, it turned out exactly the way I wanted it to! I haven’t come up with a clear recipe yet but I want to document, for myself, what I did so I don’t forget what worked.

Tofu Scramble
I used a block of extra firm tofu which I had cut into 3/4″ slabs and pressed the water out. I put them into a bowl and added about 1/8 Cup nutritional yeast, 1/8 teaspoon turmeric, salt and freshly ground black pepper.With a wooden spoon, I chunked up the tofu while mixing in the NY and spices.

In a cast iron skillet, I sautéed a very small onion, a minced clove of garlic, 1/4 Cup minced parsley and 1/3 Cup chopped green pepper in about 2 Tablespoons of Earth Balance. I cooked them over medium heat until the veggies were just soft then added the tofu mixture and turned the heat up to medium-high.

I didn’t walk away from the scramble at this point since the heat was so high. I made sure to let it sit for a bit, then used a spatula to turn sections of it over. This allowed some of the tofu surfaces to eventually get a little brown and dry out just a bit. The tofu broke up a bit more which I was fine with. Just at the end, almost like de-glazing, I poured in a mixture of about 2 Tablespoons of cold coconut milk mixed with about 1 teaspoon of corn starch. This cooked up and was kind of a mild binding agent while replacing just a hint of a creamy moisture. I only cooked it for about a minute while turning it over frequently. I removed it from the heat and served it immediately.

I really loved it and Jim thought it was great too. Now I can join the ranks of vegans who think their Tofu Scramble is the best.

About trueindigo

vegan, runner, blogger, mom, model, artist, tarot reader.

10 responses »

  1. My name is Annie and I’m a tofu-scramble-greenhorn, too! I’ve avoided trying to make this because I just couldn’t see it and I pictured a complete disaster in the skillet. But, seeing your photos and reading through your recipe gives me incentive to try it. I cannot believe how closely your tofu resembles scrambled eggs – not that that is important – but, you know, it’s kinda cool. I’m thinking this will be dinner one night this week.

    Reply
  2. Tofu-scramble-greenhorn Anonymous group all chants “Hi Annie!”

    Having tasted at least a real chicken-egg frittata in early December, I can still know what scrambled eggs should taste like. My tofu scramble TASTED like scrambled eggs to both me and Jim! We were blown away since we had eaten such a lousy batch of them about a month or so ago. They will make a great dinner and I look forward to your recipe!

    Reply
  3. I’ve never even heard of a tofu scramble! Maybe it’s because I’m in England? Anyway, I might try and make one..

    Reply
  4. Tofu-scramble-greenhorn Anonymous group all chants “Hi Kate!”

    Do you Brits regularly eat scrambled eggs? They are on almost every restaurant’s breakfast menu here in the states. Tofu scramble comes out quite like that without using any animal products. Warm, mellow and satisfying while eating much lower on the food chain.

    Reply
  5. I’m with ya! I haven’t had many tofu scrambles in my life either. I tried something once and it was a disaster.
    You’ve inspired me to give it another go!

    Reply
    • Tofu-scramble-greenhorn Anonymous group all chants “Hi In Fine Balance!” (I couldn’t find your name- hehe)

      I am thinking that it’s NOT just because we all run, blog and eat healthfully vegan-esque foods that we are all Tofu Scramble newbies here. I am thinking it may be the tofu stigma and, as you and I have both experienced, a bad tofu scramble can be BAD!!

      It really was a huge surprise to both of us that it was so good. Please, please, let’s all compare successful Tofu Scrambles! It’s really inspiring to know that we are all trying it out!

      Reply
  6. Pingback: When the Cupboards Are (Almost) Bare « anunrefinedvegan

  7. You did good!! As promised, I made this tonight for dinner and it was super delicious. Kel and I are converts! The slurry at the end (I used soy milk and arrowroot) was pure genius. PS my add ins were red pepper, red onion, garlic and some apple-sage “sausage.”. Dee-lish! Thanks!

    Reply
  8. I used tapioca starch and soy milk for the final slurry today and it was even better! Also, a couple of drops of liquid smoke in the with crumble tofu and yeast made it very yummy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

