RSS Feed

Lunchtime Love

Lunchtime Love

So many places like Fiddlehead and Otto’s Pub and Brewery were offering up cheerful Tomato Soup on their lunchtime menus today. Otto’s even had the lunch special of Grilled Cheese with Spinich (sic), Bacon (yuck), and Tomato served with Beer Chips and a Cup of Tomato Soup. I would have asked for the bacon to be omitted but the spinach and tomato made it sound pretty good! It’s days like this that I want to cave in and just revert to my less challenging vegetarian ways.

Thank goodness I had some Galaxy Foods Rice Vegan Cheddar slices on hand. With the right ingredients, I was able to make a fun Valentine’s Day lunch for me and Jim. I know it gave him a smile when he came into the kitchen and we both loved how the slices made puffy hearts when put under the broiler.

We didn’t waste any of the scraps I made when cutting them into hearts; we ate them with the vegan tomato soup I made. Nope, not a can of Campbell’s with soy milk, I made this from a few on hand ingredients for some…

Lunchtime Love Soup

Ingredients:
2 Tbs. Earth Balance stick
2 Tbs. flour
1 tsp. almond butter
1 C. plant based milk of choice
1 C. tomato sauce
1 Tbs. lime juice
1 tsp. agave nectar
fresh ground pepper to taste

Directions:
Over medium heat, melt Earth Balance in 1 quart sauce pan and add flour. Stir continuously for a minute and add the almond butter. Stir until blended and slowly add the milk. Cook until it thickens a bit and add tomato sauce, lime juice and agave nectar. Continue stirring until heated through and pepper to taste.

I served it with a decorative heart of vegan sour cream thinned with just a bit of lime juice.

About trueindigo

vegan, runner, blogger, mom, model, artist, tarot reader.

One response »

  1. I’m loving the puffy “cheese” hearts! Funny how they did that. Looks delicious and oh so very simple.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

