RSS Feed

Chickpea Cutlets with Garlic Lemon Sauce

The joy of being able to share a recipe from Veganomicon is when it is also out on PPK so I am not spoiling the copyright. It’s very generous of the author to have shared her Doublebatch Chickpea Cutlet recipe. I don’t need to make that many since I get 6 out of the recipe and freeze 4. Maybe if I had a huge freezer I would make a double batch but it worked out just right since I only had 1/2 cup vital wheat gluten in my pantry.

One thing I like about recipes that call for lemon juice and zest is that I don’t feel like I am wasting. I have also taken to zesting a lemon before juicing it and if the zest isn’t needed, it’s small and I freeze it in a snack baggy.

I used the lemon juice for a Garlic Lemon Sauce (recipe below) which I served over some pasta along with the…

Chickpea Cutlets

Ingredients:
1 C. cooked chickpeas
2 Tbs. extra virgin olive oil
2 cloves garlic, pressed or grated with a Microplane grater
1/2 tsp. lemon zest
1/2 C. vital wheat gluten
1/2 C. plain breadcrumbs
1/4 C. water
1 Tbs. Bragg Liquid Amino
1/2 tsp. dried thyme
1/2 tsp. paprika
1/4 tsp. dried sage
spray olive oil for baking sheet

Directions:
Preheat oven to 375°

In a mixing bowl, mash the chickpeas together with the oil, garlic and lemon zest until no whole chickpeas are left. I use a potato masher. Stir in the rest of the ingredients and get to kneading the mass for 3 – 5 minutes. You will feel the gluten strands start to elongate.

Have the baking sheet prepped by spraying it with oil. Divide the cutlet dough into 6 equal pieces. To form cutlets, knead each piece in your hand for a few moments and then flatten and stretch each one into a roughly 6 by 4 inch rectangular cutlet shape. Brush lightly with olive oil on both sides and place them on the oiled baking sheet. Bake for 20 minutes, turn them over and bake an additional 8 – 10 minutes until both sides are lightly browned and firm to the touch.

Garlic Lemon Sauce

Ingredients:
4 Tbs. melted Earth Balance Stick
2 Tbs. lemon juice
1 clove garlic, minced
dash fresh black pepper
1/4 tsp. salt
1 Tbs. fresh chopped parsley
1 Tbs. fresh chopped basil

Directions:
In a saucepan, heat the Earth Balance over medium-low heat; add lemon juice, garlic, dash pepper, and 1/4 teaspoon of salt. Saute for 1 minute; stir in parsley and basil.

To serve, drizzle about 1 1/2 tablespoons of the lemon sauce over each cutlet. Serve with hot cooked pasta.

About trueindigo

vegan, runner, blogger, mom, model, artist, tarot reader.

3 responses »

  1. Hi again, I am going to be stalking around your site with these fabulous recipes you keep posting. This is a another delicious one. don’t you just love Braggs amino acids. Sometime I walk by my fridge and spray a bit in my mouth. Shhhhh don’t tell anyone. I don’treally like the taste of earth balance, do you know of another vegan substitute. I gotta get this book.

    Reply
    • I do the same thing with the Braggs! 😀

      I am not super jazzed about Earth Balance flavor but was trying to veganize a butter recipe. If I had it to do over again I would substitute some olive oil for 1/2 of the EB.

      Thanks for stalking!

      Reply
  2. A Tablespoon of Liz

    These look so amazing, and that lemon garlic sauce i bet is terrific with them!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

