RSS Feed

Carrot Cake Cupcakes

FOR AN AMENDED RECIPE THAT IS GREAT GO TO: Johnna’s Carrot Cake Cupcakes.

Ok, I wasn’t all that happy how these came out but I am waiting to hear how my tasters felt about them. This is the very first recipe from any of Moskowitz/Romero cookbooks that I didn’t think turned out perfectly. I am a little sad that I didn’t make a vegan King Cake instead.

Now that I did a search for the Carrot Cake Cupcake recipe from Vegan Cupcakes Take over the World, I see there is a fix that people are suggesting to add more flour (see link here). AUGH! I went against ALL of my intuition that told me to add more flour because I was certain all of their cookbooks were like different versions of the vegan bible.

It seems nothing has gone right so far today. I decided not to make my annual Vegetable Jambalaya for Mardi Gras/ Fat Tuesday and opted to go in an support the new vegan place, Aardvark Kafé. They were having some spicy vegan chili today and I thought I could maybe pretend it was a Mardis Gras food and support the new place. Jim was set to meet me there so I loaded up a plate of these cupcakes to give to the staff and other vegan diners. I set aside another plate for Jim’s co-workers and some to share with my folks tonight.

I caught the bus and the cupcakes caught the eye of my favorite bus driver, Chris. I think he decided not to have one when he found out they were vegan… just kidding! Chris thought they looked good and asked for my blog address. Hi Chris!

I got of the bus downtown and noticed it had gotten a lot colder. My hands were freezing from carrying the plate of cupcakes after walking blocks with fingerless gloves – stupid me.

I was feeling a little embarrassed to offer the cupcakes because the paper was peeling away from the cake. Way too much oil if you ask me and the batter almost didn’t make enough. I didn’t need to worry about impressing anyone at Aardvark today nor did I get to warm up with a bowl of chili. I found this note on the door when I got there. Bummer.

I tried to call Jim but he had already left to join me so he couldn’t pick up soup on the way. I stood there, hungry and cold and hopped in the moment Jim pulled up. All I could offer him in the amount of time he had left on his lunch break was… left over spaghetti. Sorry man.

Jim is always a good sport and I sent him off with more cupcakes for his good folks to try. I have to pack to go to my folks tonight and clean a MOUNTAIN of dishes from baking but I hope that his coworkers will give me some feedback on this recipe. I plan on making it again for the weekend (a 3 vegan birthday par-tay in Harrisburg) and hope I can improve on it.

About trueindigo

vegan, runner, blogger, mom, model, artist, tarot reader.

14 responses »

  1. Oh what a bummer! I haven’t tried that recipe yet. And I agree with you, usually the Moskwitz/Romero recipes are spot on. Hope the day got better and the dishes got done! Safe travels!

    Reply
    • Thanks Annie – it’s been a crazy week but the best thing today was when Jim dropped me off on our truncated lunchtime. He came in, sniffed the air in the apartment and said, “It smells so good in here!” The cupcakes did a nice job of making the place smell good for hours!

      Reply
  2. T, I loved the carrot cupcakes! Very moist and the icing Rocked! ~Terra Dawn

    Reply
  3. Terri, the cupcakes look gorgeous! I kind of like the paper coming off. Anyway, the photos make me want to open the cookbook and get goin’!

    Reply
  4. Terri, the cupcakes were delicious, very moist. I wanted to eat another one, but thought I should save some for other people. 🙂

    Reply
  5. Those look delicious!!! I’ll have to try them sometime.

    Reply
  6. Rachel in Veganland

    Your carrot knots are probably the cutest thing I’ve ever seen on a cupcake! Love them!

    Reply
  7. I am having my book club meeting tomorrow and several of the members are Vegans therefore I am making these for the second time this week. The first batch yielded eight cupcakes and the second one only seven. Next time I will double the recipe and make larger cupcakes with the same size pan. I added two more tablespoons of flour and decreased the sugar by 1 TBSP. The first batch did seem oily and rather sweet so am trying these adjustments. They are baking as I write so not sure re: the new results.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

