RSS Feed

Johnna’s Carrot Cake Cupcakes

I decided to add more flour to my second batch of Carrot Cake Cupcakes and some other changes to the recipe in Vegan Cupcakes Take over the World. I do encourage people to buy cookbooks and don’t like stepping on copyright issues but my changes to the cupcakes by themselves was extensive enough that I am going to share exactly what I did. The recipe for their Vegan Cream Cheese Frosting you will have to buy the book for, or use a ready made vegan out of a can. Duncan Hines lists a few here on Is it Vegan. I suggest the Creamy Home-Style Butter Cream Frosting since it is closest to the recipe for the Carrot Cake Cupcakes.

I took my second batch to share the the dear Green Street irregulars at breakfast at the Broad Street Market. I do have to say that no one said they were anything other than outstanding. Some good friends bragged on them to the point I forced them to take seconds. Marshall and Johnna didn’t complain and Jay took two readily! The look of joy when Johnna received her second cupcake will forever remind me that these are really…

Johnna’s Carrot Cake Cupcakes

Ingredients:
1 Cup all purpose flour
1 Tablespoon corn starch
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon freshly micro planed cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon micro planed fresh ginger
2/3 Cup turbinado sugar
1/3 Cup vegetable oil
1/3 Cup vanilla soy yogurt
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 Cup grated carrot
1/4 Cup finely chopped walnuts
1/4 Cup raisins
1 Tablespoon vegan rum

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350°
Line muffin tins with 12 cupcake liners.

Start by soaking the raisins in the rum for at least a 1/2 hour.

In a medium mixing bowl, stir together the oil, yogurt, vanilla and sugar until sugar is well dissolved. Drain the raisins and add them to the oil and sugar mixture along with the moist ginger. Stir to blend completely and sift in the dry ingredients. Mix until smooth then fold in the carrots and walnuts.

Very lightly spray the liners with non-stick baking spray and evenly divide the batter into the 12 liners. They will not be full but will rise nicely in the oven. Bake roughly 28 minutes until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.

Allow them to cool completely before frosting and decorating.

About trueindigo

vegan, runner, blogger, mom, model, artist, tarot reader.

6 responses »

  1. Looks like you made a batch of delicious cupcakes! I still say I need to try these. I will once I’ve finally lost the last of this extra weight.

    Reply
  2. These look really good, I’m craving a cupcake now!

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Carrot Cake Cupcakes | Bacon is NOT an Herb

  4. Can applesauce be a substitute for the yogurt?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

