RSS Feed

Aunt Esther’s BBQ Chick’n

Posted on

I am naming this after my late Aunt Esther since she always made such great Dutchy picnic style food. Also, since today is Purim, I thought the name also recognized Queen Esther in being integral in spoiling King Ahasuerus’ plans to kill the Jews. Although I have no known Jewish ancestors, let’s celebraet Purim and the memory of my Aunt Esther by enjoying good food and drink today!

I needed to make the 2 left over Chickpeas Cutlets a little more festive so gave them a back-yard picnic flair by making up a tiny batch of BBQ sauce out of what was on hand in my cupboard.

Aunt Esther’s BBQ Chick’n

BBQ sauce
1 Tbs. ketchup
1/4 tsp. yellow mustard
1/4 tsp. black strap molasses
1/2 tsp. onion powder
3-4 drops chipotle tabaso

Whisk all together and slather over all sides of:
2 Chickpeas Cutlets.

I covered them in a shallow casserole and put them in the oven for an hour at a low temperature (~250°) to let all of the flavors get into the cutlets.

I served them up with some homemade coleslaw and cornbread wedges. I could see my whole family enjoying a meal like this around the old green picnic table in our and Aunt Esther’s shared backyards.

Photographed below 7/4/1971, we are at one of these grand picnics of many years past.This is the only photo I can think of where all of the cousins I have on my father’s side of the family are in one photo. Queen Esther is seated on the right, holding the leash of our dog.

About trueindigo

vegan, runner, blogger, mom, model, artist, tarot reader.

3 responses »

  1. That’s a great way to remember your aunt! Happy Purim 🙂

    Reply
  2. Here’s to Aunt Esther and all of the wonderful Aunt Esthers out there!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

