RSS Feed

ING NYC Marathon Lottery – Year 2

Posted on

Yes, for the second year in a row I have entered the lottery to have a chance to run the ING New York City Marathon. It sounds a bit crazy since I have never run a full marathon (only 4 half marathons) and have a hard time building up my mileage without getting overuse injuries (mainly plantar fasciitis).

When I entered the lottery last year and was not chosen, I knew that there was a processes in place that allowed me a chance at eventual guaranteed entry… eventually. If I was not chosen in the lottery for 3 consecutive years, the fourth year I would be automatically accepted. I thought that I could at least start the process in 2011.

I was terribly disappointed last April to not have been chosen in the 2011 lottery and tried to train for the Wineglass Marathon in Corning, NY. I wanted to run a full before I turned 50. By mid July, I realized I had to back off of my training. The niggling foot pain I had for years called plantar fasciitis ended up causing me a full-blown heal spur and I had to back off running for 2 months. In August, I got some great physical therapy and have been able to build back almost 100% of the time being pain-free. My 4th half-marathon in December was a personal best on our local hilly course in central PA.

I am currently signed up to run a 10 mile race on April 1st (no foolin’) and things are going pretty well. I ran it last year with moderate foot pain and this year I have run 9 of the same miles and feel much better. I might not be as fast as last year but I also don’t feel like I am constantly in fear of not being able to walk without pain.

It is taking a lot of hard work, building back slowly, stretching, calf massage and now slowly dropping a few pounds that I enjoyed putting on over the winter. I know I can run a full marathon, it is just a matter of training carefully and wisely, knowing my limitations.

Will it be in NYC? Registration for the lottery closes on 4/23 and they announce who is accepted sometime after that. If I do not make it I may run my first in Corning (it only cost $5 to defer my 2011 entry). Either way, it was important to continue to stay in the lottery because, as of this year, NYC Marathon is slowly phasing out guaranteed entries. I would be the last year of those who would be guaranteed entry by being denied after 3 lotteries.

I know I don’t often post about anything other than veggie food related things. I am writing this as kind of an apology if my blogging goes slack now and then. Training for a race takes a lot of time, energy and mental focus. If you discount the first posts I shared from other personal blogs, you can notice I started this blog in July 2011. It was then that I had to stop running and find something else to occupy myself in a different creative way while I healed.

I hope I can keep active with both training and blogging; I hope to find a good balance. Wish me luck, I need it!

About trueindigo

vegan, runner, blogger, mom, model, artist, tarot reader.

4 responses »

  1. I’ve also been disappointed by overuse injuries while training (Marine Marathon; the OKC bombing memorial marathon and the Nike Half in SF) – so I am rooting for you, big time!

    Reply
    • Thank you so much Annie. It’s a hard balance and takes a while to heal the older I get. I’m having a good time this time. training is so much less painful.

      Reply
  2. Good Luck to you.

    Reply
  3. Best of luck! *hugs*

    Reply

Leave a Reply

