RSS Feed

Pluck of the Irish

Posted on
Pluck of the Irish

Corned Beef and Cabbage recipe on a Pennsyltucky Veggie blog? Even my ancestors, the Doyles from East Waterford in Perry County, certainly cooked up a batch now and then. This gave me the courage to use some of the massive seitan package I got from Spencer’s Market (a vegan foodie MUST, please join with my referral) to make a fun twist to the splendid traditional flavors.

The seitan sampler included many varieties from Upton’s Naturals. For this mellow dish, I chose the Traditional in style.

Pluck of the Irish

Ingredients:
1 lb. Brussles Sprouts (halve them if they are large)
2 fist sized potatoes, scrubbed and cut into hunks
2 medium sized carrots, cut into thick slices
3 – 4 Tablespoons Earth Balance stick, cut into 8 pieces
a small muslin bag filled with:
1 teaspoon whole allspice
1 teaspoon whole black peppercorns
1 teaspoon dried dill
2 crushed cloves of garlic

Directions:
It’s been so unseasonably warm that we started a fire our little outdoor pit.

I wrapped all of the ingredients in about 4-5 layers of heavy duty foil with the base being about 9″ x 9″ across. A couple of the layers I made super long and made a handle out of; it turned into something like a giant foil basket.

We set the basket into the nest of coals Jim had prepared. Because the foil was completely sealed, the steam inside was enough and we didn’t need any coals on top of the package. After 20 minutes, the veggies were tender, lightly seasoned and seitan heated through. If you want the traditional seasoning that are used in corned beef to shine through even more, you will want to simmer them with the seitan in a small amount of broth (reserve any excess broth for another use – there is plenty of moisture to steam as it is) before putting the ingredients in the foil.

The bottom veggies were just grilled to a point where they had some cosmetic character and color but none were burnt. This recipe made 4 generous portions and we loved every bite.

Don’t forget to check out Spencer’s Market. They offer bulk samples of so many great vegan foods and I am begging referrals since I get little bonuses (like free shipping) as I get a few.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About trueindigo

vegan, runner, blogger, mom, model, artist, tarot reader.

5 responses »

  1. Hmmmm, this is the second time in the space of a week that I’ve read about Upton’s Naturals, Spencer’s Market and a seitan sampler! The gods must be telling me something! Better get my (virtual) fanny over and take a look!

    Reply
    • I wasn’t sure if it would ever offer anything I was interested in but I have place 3 orders with Spencer’s Market and have been thrilled with the products, price and service. Signing up is free ( as you have no doubt seen) and thank you for using my referral!

      Reply
      • I signed up – using your link – hope it added a referral for you!

      • Yes! Thank you so much!

        It went through and I don’t think you will be disappointed. I waited just a bit too long to order a sampler of Superfood Snacks, they sold out before I could decide. Next time, I will know and make a purchase quickly if it is a product I think I will really like.

  2. Pingback: Vegan Corned Beef and Cabbage | Bacon is NOT an Herb

Leave a Reply

