RSS Feed

Homemade Vegan Naan

Posted on

I got so frustrated with wanting naan and all of the stuff at the store had milk products in it. Inspired by all of the baking Annie from An Unrefined Vegan has been sharing lately, I decided to try to make my own.

I found the recipe on the PETA Website and know they would want me to empower folks to try it on their own so I am sharing it. The only thing I am changing is how many it makes. I got almost double the yield even following their directions exactly.

Homemade Vegan Naan
Ingredients:
1 tsp. active dry yeast (1/2 package)
1/2 cup warm water
1 Tbsp. sugar
3 Tbsp. soy milk
1 tsp. salt
1 3/4-2 cups bread flour
2 Tbsp. olive oil

Directions:
•In a large bowl, dissolve the yeast in warm water. Let stand about 10 minutes, until frothy.

•Stir in the sugar, soy milk, salt, and enough flour to make a soft dough, between 1 3/4 to 2 cups.

•Knead for 6 to 8 minutes on a lightly floured surface or until smooth. Place in a well-oiled bowl, cover with a damp cloth, and set aside to rise. Let it rise 1 hour, until the dough has doubled in volume.

•Punch down the dough then roll into golf ball-size pieces and place on a baking sheet. Cover with a towel and allow to rise until doubled in size, about 30 minutes.

•Preheat a pan to high heat and lightly oil. Roll each ball of dough into a thin circle then add to pan one at a time. Cook for 2 to 3 minutes, or until bubbles begin to brown and brush the top side with additional oil. Flip the bread and cook for 2 to 3 minutes on the other side. Continue until all the bread is cooked.

Makes 10 servings

About trueindigo

vegan, runner, blogger, mom, model, artist, tarot reader.

10 responses »

  1. Oh my gosh – that looks outstanding!! I’m so impressed. (Thanks for the mention, too!) I am definitely giving this a whirl.

    Reply
  2. Those look delicious and seems really easy!

    Reply
  3. Thank you so much for your comment on my blog, alerting me to this post! Your naan will go perfectly with my Moroccan stew, can’t wait to try it!

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Spinach Dahl | Andrea's Kitchen

  5. Pingback: Homemade Vegan Naan « The Vegan Kat

  6. I’ve never had this before and just made your recipe. Very tasty stuff! Thanks for posting!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

