RSS Feed

Better “Chicken” (Vegan Indian Seitan in Tomato Cream Sauce)

Posted on

I think what I have been enjoying most about Spencer’s Market is that I get to try new vegan products that I would have never otherwise have taken notice of Also thanks to the 20+ folks who have joined using my referral and landing me some free shipping!! After trying these cool products, I typically realize that I can also find the them at a local store.

This time I was excited to try some MimicCream. I was so pleased with the unsweetened version of this product that I am busting right into my busy marathon training schedule to share a recipe I veganized with it.

This recipe is loosely based on Butter Chicken I found on the Food Network Webpage. It was wonderful to have a creamy Indian dish again and it went well with a batch of my Homemade Vegan Naan.

Better “Chicken”
(Vegan Indian Seitan in Tomato Cream Sauce)

Ingredients:

3 tablespoons Earth Balance stick
1 large onion, chopped (about 1 cup)
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 teaspoon fresh ginger, minced
1 tablespoon tomato paste
1 tablespoon garam masala
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon cayenne
1 (15 oz) can tomato sauce
1 (14 1/2 oz) can diced tomatoes in juice
1 (6 oz) package of chicken-style seitan
1 (10 oz) box frozen peas, thawed
2/3 cup Unsweetened MimicCream

Directions:

Melt the Earth Balance in a skillet over medium heat. Add the onion and cook, stirring frequently, until the pieces just begin to turn gold, about 5 minutes. Add the garlic, ginger, tomato paste and spices, and cook for 1 minute, stirring constantly to prevent burning. Add the tomato sauce and diced tomatoes and stir well. Add the seitan pieces, spoon the sauce over the top and bring to a simmer. Turn the heat to low and cook, uncovered, until the seitan is warmed through, about 10 minutes. Stir frequently.

Add the peas and Unsweetened MimicCream to the pan, stir well and heat through. Do not boil. Serve with rice and warm Homemade Vegan Naan.

About trueindigo

vegan, runner, blogger, mom, model, artist, tarot reader.

One response »

  1. yum yum yum! I love Indian fare!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

