RSS Feed

Trader Joe’s Vegan Mozzarella Style Shreds

TD_VegCheese2I wish I had a sample of Trader Joe’s Vegan Mozzarella Style Shreds when I had done my vegan cheese taste test last May. It is definitely different from any that I tried.

I used it on a pizza, making my super easy crust from the Mark Bittman’s How to Cook Everything Vegetarian. Uncooked, the shreds are a lot like a Parmesan, just a little dry and tough but a fine flavor. In the super hot oven, they melted and bubbled up in a visually pleasing way.

This vegan cheese melted and spread a lot more differently than any other vegan cheese shredded product. I allowed the pizza to stand a few minutes as you would a dairy cheesed pizza. The cooked Trader Joe’s Vegan Mozzarella Style Shreds looked a little glossy and when I touched it it was pliant and stringy in a gooey sort of way.

The mouth feel was a bit pasty and stuck to the roof of my mouth and teeth. Unlike Daiya shreds, it left a starchy coating but its flavor was superior. It was not a mellow mozzarella flavor but more like a melted American Cheese or mild Cheddar. If you think of Daiya as a little rubbery, Trader Joe’s Vegan Mozzarella Style Shreds cook up a little pasty.

I think the Trader Joe’s Vegan Mozzarella Style Shreds has a superior flavor but I wouldn’t use it in every recipe where you would want a vegan Mozzarella. It was fine on the pizza but think it would do better replacing a soft queso.TD_VegCheese1

About trueindigo

vegan, runner, blogger, mom, model, artist, tarot reader.

Leave a Reply

