RSS Feed

Roasted Garlic Seitan Roll

DSC02750_smInspired by a recipe I saw on Cook’s County, I decided to adapt the Stuffed Seitan Roast I made for A Taste of Thanksgiving.

DSC02744_smSince it was only for the two of us, I halved the roast recipe, swapped lentils for pinto beans and dried mustard for the paprika. In the center, instead of stuffing, I put about a dozen cloves of peeled roasted garlic before rolling it and crimping the seam together.

I baked it the same length of time (90 minutes @ 350°) but before wrapping it in the foil, I sprayed the foil with olive oil because I decided to brush a little mustard glaze on it.

Mustard Glaze:
1 Tbl brown mustardDSC02746_sm
1 Tbl brown sugar
1/2 tsp coarse sea salt
1/2 tsp crushed rosemary
a pinch of powdered cloves

It turned out very nicely, did not need any gravy for seasoning nor moisture and went well with beets and steamed broccoli.DSC02753_sm

About trueindigo

vegan, runner, blogger, mom, model, artist, tarot reader.

Leave a Reply

