RSS Feed

Coconut Bacon

Posted on

Coconut-BaconI am loving yet another product that I would not have tried if I hadn’t signed up for Spencer’s MarketPhoney Baloney’s Coconut Bacon!

It has the right amount of crunch and saltiness and flavor without that odd aftertaste a lot of soy bacon gives. The slight coconut flavor is very pleasing!

I tried it as toppers on a salad an then a recipe my friend Jan shared with me. I have yet to mix it in to see if it hold up to moisture or cooking but I have my doubts that I will have enough. It is great to snack on too!

Here is a terrific recipe that it compliments and called for real bacon on top. It also called for shrimp and I subbed tofu instead.

Old Florida Style Soup

Florida-Soup

INGREDIENTS:
1/2 cup chopped onion
1 tsp. garlic
1 (1 lb. 12 oz) can Ro*tel tomatoes with chili peppers
1 green pepper, chopped
1/2 tsp. black pepper
1 bay leaf
1 carrot, sliced thin
2 med. Celery sticks, sliced
2 med. Potatoes, cubed
2 tsp. salt
1/2 lb. cubed extra firm tofu (pressed and seasoned with old bay)
1/2 cup Coconut Bacon

DIRECTIONS:
Sauté onion and garlic. Add tomatoes, and add rest of ingredients to onion. Bring to boiling point, reduce heat and simmer 20 minutes. Add tofu and heat through. Garnish with Coconut Bacon.

About trueindigo

vegan, runner, blogger, mom, model, artist, tarot reader.

6 responses »

  1. I’ve been reading about coconut bacon – – must get my hands on some (or make it…).

    Hey girl, haven’t seen your name amongst the May 11 Potluck participants! Are you in??
    http://virtualveganpotluck.com/sign-up/

    Reply
  2. Is the coconut bacon as delicious as I think it is? I just may have to order some.

    Reply
    • It really is terrific as a topper!

      Reply
      • I never really miss the greasy dead parts of bacon, but there are indeed things where I do miss that smoky-sweet flavour.

        I really want to try this out on a spinach and mushroom salad, or in my grandma’s crazy “Ukrainian Chinese Food” recipe (it’s like fried rice with chopped up dill pickle and bacon in it – weird as heck but our whole family loves it and has since the 1950s).

        I’ve been using organic smoked tofu for these dishes and it’s not bad at all, but yeah I suspect that coconut bacon would be MUCH yummier.

Leave a Reply

