RSS Feed

Baked Whole Pineapple

Posted on

Based on the video below, I veganized the recipe for baked pineapple. Instead of egg whites, I used 1/4 cup tapioca starch and moistened the salt and spice mixture with vegan cognac. You really need to watch the video to understand the rest of the recipe and procedure.

My pineapple was a much larger one so I used about 20 cloves and baked it a full hour at 350°. It came out just right. I quartered it and used two of the sections as suggested. Instead of the marscarpone and basil, I used 1/2 cup Luna & Larry’s Coconut Bliss and mint.

The other sections I chilled and served with salad the next day. The cloves and spiced salt gave the whole pineapple a great infusion of flavor. It was worth the effort and a lot of fun. The only thing I would change would be to wrap the leaves in foil while baking so they might not get as dry and would perhaps look more attractive when serving.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About trueindigo

vegan, runner, blogger, mom, model, artist, tarot reader.

7 responses »

  1. Looks yummy. Since you used a larger pineapple, did the core get soft too.

    Reply
  2. Interesting recipe… I never would have thought of this! I love pineapple 🙂 Looks yummy!

    Reply
  3. that is so cool! my first thought was whether or not the salt really had an impact on the taste but then I read the rest of your post. It’s an interesting recipe and I am curious about the taste but I don’t know if I wanna make the salt “suit” for the pineapple…I am lazy 🙂

    Reply
  4. Just wanted to let you know that I nominated you for a Liebster Blog Award 🙂 http://thevegankat.com/?p=2173&preview=true

    Reply
  5. That is crazy!! And I bet delish!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

